MPP Dufferin-Caledon

Ontario Supporting Local Communities with Emergency Funding

Dufferin-Caledon: MPP Sylvia Jones is pleased to share the news that the Ontario government, in partnership with the federal government, is delivering on its commitment to provide urgently needed emergency assistance to Ontario’s 444 municipalities.  Communities in Dufferin and the Town of Caledon will receive funding to address municipal operating pressures related to the COVID-19 pandemic as part of the first round of emergency funding under the Safe Restart Agreement.

Ontario secured up to $4 billion in emergency assistance for municipalities through the Safe Restart Agreement, which gives them the support and flexibility they need to protect the health and well-being of their communities, while continuing to deliver critical public services as the province continues on the path of renewal, growth and economic recovery.

“I know that the municipalities in Dufferin-Caledon worked hard to maintain essential services to residents during the emergency order,” said Jones. “Getting back to business and reopening has had its challenges locally, but this money provided under the Safe Restart Agreement will help our communities in their efforts to safely restart programs and services that were disrupted due to the pandemic.”


Municipality Municipal Funding Phase 1 (Safe Restart) Transit Funding Phase 1
Township of Amaranth $88,300  
Town of Caledon $1,458,100 $35,886
Dufferin County $1,482,800  
Township of East Garafraxa $58,700  
Town of Grand Valley $106,200  
Township of Melancthon $70,800  
Town of Mono $204,300  
Town of Orangeville $673,400 $96,430
Town of Shelburne $175,400  
Township of Mulmur $105,700  
Region of Peel $27,335,100 $553,213

In September, Ontario’s 444 municipalities will receive $695 million in Phase 1 funding for municipal operating pressures. This funding will be allocated on a per household basis and would be shared 50/50 between upper- and lower-tier municipalities. Up to $695 million in additional funding will be available through Phase 2 for municipalities that have COVID-related financial impacts that exceed the initial per household allocation provided under Phase 1.

The government is committed to working in partnership with municipalities to ensure they can emerge stronger than ever and help lead Ontario’s economic recovery.


  • The federal Safe Restart Agreement provides $19 billion to Canadian provinces and territories to help ensure a strong recovery and support frontline health care, families, and communities. Across all streams of federal investment, the Safe Restart Agreement provides over $7 billion in funding and in-kind supports to Ontario.
  • The province is making a contribution of 50 per cent to the municipal supports and transit funding available through the Safe Restart Agreement, with the federal government contributing the other 50 per cent.
  • Ontario is also providing municipal service managers and Indigenous housing partners an additional $212 million under the Social Services Relief Fund to help protect vulnerable people from COVID-19. This investment can help them protect homeless shelter staff and residents, expand rent support programming and create longer-term housing solutions. This brings the government’s total Social Services Relief Fund investment provided to service managers and Indigenous program administrators to $510 million, and builds on our COVID-19 Action Plan to Protect Vulnerable Ontarians.
  • Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the Ontario government has worked with municipalities to provide them with the tools and supports they need, including enabling them to hold virtual council and local board meetings, and temporarily extending expiring development charge bylaws to ensure they could continue to collect this vital source of revenue.

Orangeville Constituency Office

  • 180 Broadway
    3rd Floor, Suite A

    L9W 1K3 Orangeville, Ontario
  • 519-941-7751 | 1-800-265-1603